Lagos Inaugurates 2 Local Government Election Tribunals

Ambode Voting

A week after the Lagos State Local Government elections, the Lagos State Chief Judge, Justice Olufunmilayo Atilade on Friday inaugurated two tribunals to look into the complaints arising from the just concluded elections.

Justice Olateru Olagbegi was named as chairman of the first tribunal, while Mrs Folashade Adetiba was appointed as chairman of the second tribunal.

Members of the first tribunal are; Mrs Aigbokhavio, Miss Badejo Okunsanya, Mr Fadeyi and Abdulazeez Jimoh while members of the second tribunal are; Mrs D.T Olatokun, Mr Paul, Mrs Olajuwon and Mr O. Olaibi.

Speaking during the swearing-in ceremony at the conference room of the Lagos State High Court in Ikeja, Atilade noted that the local government election held on July 22, 2017 in Lagos State remains inconclusive without providing a platform as prescribed by the Electoral law, for aggrieved parties or individuals to seek redress through seamless legal process.

According to the Chief Judge, members of the committee comprise of men and women of proven integrity who are vast in relevant laws and are sure to deliver on the assignment and give justice accordingly.

She urged the committee members to see their new task as a call to service and ensure that the oath of office remains their guide.

“I urged you to see this as a call to service and to know that people are watching you. Your oath of office should remain your guide,” she said.

Justice Atilade further urged them to be wary of people especially family members, school mates and church members who at this time would be calling and texting them for favours with regards to their new duties.

Source: Tribune

Send your press release/articles to: ,Follow us on Twitter at @dnlpartners and Facebook at

Share on


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here