NBA Lagos Branch Holds 2018 Annual General Meeting

NBA Logo
The Lagos Branch of the Nigerian Bar Association today held its Annual General Meeting. The AGM which commenced at exactly 1pm was chaired by the Chairman of the Branch, Mr. Chukwuka Ikwuazom.
In his address, Mr. Ikwuazom thanked all members of the branch for the tremendous support they have given to the present Executive Committee of the Branch which was inaugurated on the 27th of July, 2017. In his words, the Chairman stated: “Your goodwill towards the Branch is so inexhaustible that we have never made any request for service of financial support from any member of the Branch and been turned down. The willingness of our senior and younger colleagues to render sacrificial stewardship to the Branch when called upon to do so is at once humbling and deeply encouraging”. The Chairman further highlighted other notable achievements made by the Branch in the preceding year. They include recruitment of skilled administrator to administer the Branch Secretariat; construction of a permanent Branch Secretariat; participation of the Branch at the 2017 Annual General Conference; Knowledge Sharing Sessions of the Branch and its Mentorship Programs.
The meeting considered and adopted the minutes of the last AGM and the 2017 Audited Account. The Chairman’s Report, Secretary’s Report, Treasurer’ s Report and Auditor’s Report formed the Statoru Reports presented at the meeting.
For the Knowledge Exchange Session, Paul Usoro SAN was on hand to give tips on the “Art of Cross Examination”.
Part of the prominent members of the Lagos Branch who were in attendance at the meeting include, Professor Kanyinsola Ajayi SAN, M.D. Before SAN, Mrs. Abimbola Akeredolu SAN, Moyosore Jubril Onigbanjo SAN, Mr. George Etomi (who is the Chair of the Technical Committee of the Conference Planning). Mr. George Etomi encouraged members of the Branch to attend the NBA AGC scheduled to hold in Abuja between the 26th – 30th of August, 2019.
Earlier in the meeting the Chairman had recognized the various contestants in the forth-coming NBA General Elections. Some of the NBA Political big wigs who were around before the commencement of the AGM were Professor Ernest Ojukwu SAN, Dr. Mobolaji Idris Ojibara, Jonathan Taidi, Mas’ud Alabelewe, Oyeyemi Balogun.
By majority vote, the General Meeting passed a resolution that the permanent site of the Branch Secretariat be situate at Plot 3, Abayomi Sonuga Street, Lekki Phase 1, Lekki, Lagos (a property which was given to the Branch by the Lagos State Government).
The meeting ended with a cocktail.
ALSO READ   Lawyers Demand for the Assets Declaration Form of CCT Chairman and His Children


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here