Sylvester Adaka Emerges Chairman NBA Port Harcourt Branch


The Electoral Committee of the Nigerian Bar Association, (NBA) Port Harcourt Branch have successfully conducted the Branches election with Mr. Sylvester Adaka emerging Chairman in the keenly contested polls. The elected officers were sworn in shortly after the election.

The newly elected Chairman recorded 354 votes to defeat his opponent G.O.A. Joseph who got 252 votes. In his speech shortly after the swearing in, Mr. Adaka thanked members of the election committee for accepting to serve the Bar in this capacity and for delivering a free and fair election. He also appreciated every member of the branch for their comportment during the election. He concluded by reiterating the importance of the assignment given to this Executive Committee. He revealed that one of the cardinal programmes of this administration would be the regulation of the legal profession in our branch (PH Bar) and the State.

“As I look forward to achieving a progressive mileage that will be gained by the work of this administration, I have no doubt in my mind that my Excos and even all branch members shall benefit from the work of this new administration,” Adaka said.

There is no time to waste. So, I encourage you to work with us for a continued better PH Bar.

Achieving a new level position or appointment that you have awaited years to accomplish can leave you feeling very satisfied and happy.

Many NBA Port Harcourt Branch members said, “Certainly Adaka’s willingness to volunteer his time and effort, as well as express his opinions, has contributed to being elected for the position of Chairman.”

ALSO READ   NBA-AGC 2021: Maikyau, SAN-Led Welfare Committee to Register at Least 125 Young Lawyers

“Everyone works to pay the bills and live a happy life, but very few people like Adaka live to work at a job that gives them happiness.”

“As we congratulate all the newly elected, we wish them every success in their new positions and duties.”

“Please be aware that you have our full support,” elated members assured.

How they were voted for:

Financial Secretary:  Mrs. Ngozi  Faith Amadi – Unopposed

Legal Adviser:  Mr. Baiyama Sylvester Kopan – Unopposed

Social Secretary:  Mr. Chinwe Omodu – Unopposed

Welfare Secretary 

Chioma Chukwuigwe – 138

Iyingi Princess Green – 423 (Winner)


Frank Otiotio  – 220

Tonye Sipoto Pepple – 244 (Winner)

Deinma Opubo – 136

Vice Chairman

C.B. Ekeh – 308 (Winner)

J.l. Ekwueme – 298


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here