FCT CJ Inaugurates Election Tribunals Ahead of LG Polls


The Federal Capital Territory Chief Judge, Justice Ishaq Bello on Wednesday warned members of the FCT election tribunal to shun corruption in all its forms.

Bello said this in Abuja at the inauguration of the Chairman and Members of the FCT Area Council Election and Appeal Tribunals.

“If you succumb and compromise, you can only have yourself to blame. I urge you therefore to shun corruption in all its forms and ramifications” he warned.

He urged them to ensure justice in the discharge of their responsibilities so as to promote transparency and good governance in the polity.

Bello further enjoined them not to accept gifts or favour from counsel and politicians, “particularly the exchange of one-sided communication with parties which have the propensity to erode the integrity of the tribunal .”

He, therefore, implored them to exhibit absolute diligence, dedication and honesty in the discharge of their duty.

Bello further told them that the judiciary must not be used as a tool to truncate the nation’s democracy.

“We should do our bit to nurture, consolidate and develop the full potentials of a truly democratic society and to steer this nation to a path of transparency and good governance” he said.

Bello also urged them to bring to bear personal insight, experience, knowledge and understanding of the law and unwavering commitment to see that justice is done.

According to him, the tribunal members must strive to do justice and win public trust and confidence for the judiciary as they proceed with their mandate.

“For it is only when people can freely approach you and obtain a fair judgment that peace and justice will reign after the election,” he said.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the tribunal is made up of six members with Justice Charles Agbaza as the chairman Area council Election Appeal while Samuel Idhiarhi, is the Chairman, FCT Area Council Election Tribunal.

The tribunals were constituted in accordance with sections 135 and 136 of the Electoral Act, 2010 as amended.


Share on


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here