Court Fire: Lagos Judiciary Begins Temporary Relocation of Judges


The Lagos State judiciary has commenced the temporary relocation of Judges whose courts were affected by the fire incident that destroyed the Igbosere Lagos Division of the High Court.

The notice to this effect indicates that about seven courtrooms would be relocated to the Lagos State High Court Annex, TBS.

The relocated courts are: The courts of;

  1. Hon. Justice T. A. O. Oyekan-Abdullai (Court 2) relocated to the ground floor.
  2. Hon. Justice O. A. IPAYE (Court 4) relocated to the 2nd floor
  3. Hon. Justice S. B. A Candide-Johnson (Court 5) relocated to the 2nd floor
  4. Hon. Justice I. O. Kasali (Court 6) relocated to the 1st Floor
  5. Hon. Justice A. M. Nicol-Clay (Court 7) relocated to the 2nd Floor
  6. Hon. Justice J. E. Oyefeso (Court 14) relocated to the 3rd Floor and
  7. Hon. Justice Y. A. Adesanya (Court 15) relocated to the ground floor

Recall that the Igbosere High Court was set ablaze by hoodlums on 21st of October, 2020 in the wake of the violence that followed the shooting of End SARS protesters at the Lekki Toll Gate. The fire completely destroyed the court which is described as the oldest court building in Nigeria as well as valuables and court records.

During his visit to assess the extent of damages to the courthouse, the Chief Judge of Lagos State, Honourable Justice K.O Alogba assured litigants of the temporary relocation of the affected courts pending the rebuilding of the destroyed court. With this first batch of relocation, it is expected that relocation of the others affected would follow immediately.

ALSO READ   Lawyers Have Asked Why Justice Ikpeme is not Qualified to be CJ of Cross River State

The Chief Judge also assured that plans are under way to commence the rebuilding of files and records destroyed in the fire.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here