Olumide Akpata Elected 30th President of the NBA Amidst Mixed Reactions


After a keenly contested NBA 2020 National Election which is marred by complaint by many disenfranchised lawyers, Mr. Olumide Akpata has been announced as the President elect of the Nigerian Bar Association.

Announcing the results of the election the ECNBA Chairman Mr. Tawa E. Tawa SAN noted that 10 positions were contested for during the election with Accredited 29636 and Valid votes 18,256

Mr. Akpata polled 9892 votes to defeat his closest contender Dr Babatunde Ajibade SAN with 4328 votes and won the election. Deacon Dele Adesina SAN came behind with a total score of 3902 votes

The breakdown of the election result are as follows:

Presidential Candidates 

Julius Oladele Adesina, SAN – 3902

Dr. Babatunde Ajibade SAN 4328

Mr. Olumide Akpata  – 9892 Winner

1st Vice Presidential Candidates

John Aihkpokpo Martins – Winner

 Ajoba Oluwasetun Ezekiel – 1231 votes

Akinlade Adebayo Ademola – 2186 votes

Adetunji Adedotun Habibh – 1749 votes

Siyonbola Ganiat Adetutuh – 498 votes

Sulayman Dawud Adamu – 239 votes

2nd Vice Presidential Candidates

Adeyemo Kazeem Debo –  8794 votes Winner

Abimbola Adesola Sunday– 6649 votes

General Secretary Candidates

 Muoka Alexander Nduka – 5965 votes

Odua Joyce – 8980 votes – Winner

Ohagba Okey Leo – 2510 Votes

Yakemewrigha Christopher Opute – 487 votes

Assistant Secretary Candidates

Agie Anne Uruegi –

Nwadialo Uchenna Esther – 7314 Winner

Osagie Aigbokhai Oaikhena

Treasurer Candidate

Mercy Ijato  – 16488 – Winner

Welfare Secretary Candidates

 Anyia Sabastine Abuo – 7620 votes

Edun Olakunle – 9001 votes winner

Financial Secretary Candidate

ALSO READ   NGO Regulation Bill Threatens Nigeria’s Hard-Won Democracy, Academics, Experts, Others Warn

Anagor Raphael Nnamdi – 15825 votes – Winner

Publicity Secretary Candidates

 Nduka Rapuluchukwu Ernest – 11965 votes – Winner

Sokoya Olayinka Ayodeji – 4998 votes

Assistant Publicity Secretary Candidates 

 Aigbokhan President E.  – 2692 Votes

Ajiboye Charles Olawale – 5752 votes

Naza Ferdinand Afam – 6490 votes Winner

Ochenehi Dominic Sunday – 1858 votes


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here