Ogun CJ Inaugurates LG Election Petition Tribunal


The Chief Judge of Ogun State, Justice Mosunmola Dipeolu, on Thursday, inaugurated the Election Petition Tribunal for the recently concluded Local Government election in the State.

The ruling All Progressives Congress swept all the 20 chairmanship and 236 councillors seats in the council polls held on July 24.

The opposition parties had asked the state judiciary to set up an election petition tribunal following their complaints of alleged irregularities.

Justice Dipeolu on Thursday inaugurated
members of two tribunal panels at the State High Court complex, Kobape, Abeokuta to allow opposition parties seek redress over the outcome of the election.

The first panel was chaired by Mr Akintunde Olurotimi Oyeyinka, while Lukman Abdullahi and Mrs Olayinka Kukoyi were members.

Also, in the second panel, Otunba Rotimi Onafadeji was appointed as Chairman while Mr Rabiu Ibrahim and Mrs Adedoyin Alaba would serve as members.

While addressing them, Justice Dipeolu cautioned the chairmen and members of the panels against delay.

She urged them to discharge their duties in line with the provisions of the law.

She said, “There is no doubt that election petition tribunal duty is a titanic one which needs more seasoned hands to crack the nut.”

In their responses, chairmen and members vowed to discharge their duties without fear or favour.

ALSO READ   Supreme Court Removes Taraba Senator, Orders Him To Refund Salaries


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here