States’ Attorneys-General Forum Elects Leaders


The Attorneys-General/Commissioners of Justice of the 36 states have elected the Attorney-General of Lagos State, Moyosore Onigbanjo, as the interim chairman of its executive committee.

During its inaugural meeting in Abuja on Monday, the forum also elected the Attorney-General of Nasarawa, Dr. Karim Kana, as interim secretary.

Other elected members of the executive committee are Prof. Zac Adangor (Rivers, South South), Uche Ihediwa (Abia, South East), Sam Adda (Taraba, North East) and Micheal Gusa (Benue, North Central), who were all chosen to represent their different zones.

The executive committee, aside running the affairs of the forum, arranging meetings and issue statements on behalf of all 36 AGs, will also take positions on legal issues, advise the Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF) and take legal action or review legal actions taken on behalf of all states.

Part of its mandate includes the pursuit of true federalism, adherence to the constitution, rule of law, independence of the judiciary, as well as liaison with the AGF on behalf of the states on legal issues.

Speakers at the maiden event included the Governor of Plateau State, Simon Lalong, who delivered the welcome address, while former AGF, Kanu Agabi, delivered the keynote address.

The next meeting comes up in the second quarter of the year.

ALSO READ   Conflicting Orders: CJN to Quiz 7 Chief Judges Today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here