Industrial Court Gets 6 New Judges


The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon. Justice Olukayode Ariwoola GCON on Monday 19th June 2023 swore in 6 new Judges of the National Industrial Court of Nigeria.

The swearing-in ceremony of the judges was held at the main courtroom of the Supreme Court in Abuja, Federal Capital Territory.

Administering the oath on the newly appointed judges, Justice Ariwoola instructed them to live above board and to submit to the sanctity of the rule of law in the discharge of their judicial functions.

Justice Ariwoola also urged the new judges to flee from anything that will bring them into disrepute in the course of their new assignment.

The historic event was witnessed by the President of the Industrial Court, Hon. Justice Benedict Kanyip, PhD, OFR, Judges of the Court, Judicial Staff of the Court and others.

The new Judges are:

i) Hon. Justice Buhari Sani

ii) Hon. Justice Damachi-Onugba Agede Joyce

iii) Hon. Justice Hassan Muhammed Yakubu

iv) Hon. Justice Sandra Audu Yelwa

v) Hon. Justice Subilim Emmanuel Danjuma

vi) Hon. Justice Muhammad Adamu Hamza

The National Industrial Court has exclusive jurisdiction on civil causes and matters relating to or connected with any labour, employment, trade unions, industrial relations and matters arising from the workplace, the conditions of service, including health, safety, the welfare of labour, employee, worker, and matters incidental thereto or connected therewith;

Relating to, connected with or arising from the Factories Act, Trade Disputes Act, Trade Unions Act, Labour Act, Employees’ Compensation Act or any other Act or Law relating to labour, employment, Industrial relations, workplace or any other enactment replacing the Acts or Laws; etc

Share on


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here