LASU-Law Students’ Society Hosts Maiden Edition of National Energy Law Conference and Debate Competition


The Lagos State University Law Students’ Society held its maiden edition of a National Energy Law Conference and Debate Competition on Monday, 10th July, 2023.

The event which is set to become and annual event was attended by legal luminaries as well as law students drawn from various law faculties in Nigeria.

Themed: “The Law and Contemporary Realities of the Nigerian Energy Sector”, the discussion centered on the Electricity Act 2023, Energy Transition, the Petroleum Industry Act, Climate Change, Fuel Subsidy removal, opportunities for Law Students in Energy Law Practice amongst others contemporary issues.

The guests of honour at the conference were Dr Ayodele Oni (Partner, Bloomfield) and Dr. Aisha Muhammed-Oyebode (Board Chair, Lekoil and CEO, Murtala Mohammed Foundation).

Mr. Olasupo Shasore, SAN, former Attorney-General of Lagos State and Partner at African Law Practice delivered an insightful keynote speech during the Conference. His speech was followed by panel discussion where the panelists comprising of; Olusina Sipasi (Partner, Aelex), Taiwo Adeshina (Partner, Jackson, Etti and Edu), Chinenye Ajayi (Team Lead, Power and Infrastructure, Olaniwun Ajayi) and Michael Iwuoha (Senior Associate, Aluko and Oyebode) did justice to the various aspect of the conference theme.

In his remarks, the President, Lagos State University Law Students’ Society, Olakunle “Cardinal” Bamisile, while appreciating the guests who honoured the invitation noted that the Conference and Debate Competition are very important aspect of the students’ formation, considering the contemporary realities of the Energy sector which is one of the most critical sectors of the Nigerian economy.

The Debate Competition comprised of a qualifying stage and the final stage which took place at the Conference. The University of Lagos, University of Benin, Obafemi Awolowo University, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Lagos State University, University of Abuja, University of Nigeria Nsukka and Gombe State University were among the participating schools with Lagos State University emerging 1st and the University of Lagos emerging as 1st runner-up. Njoku Augusta of the University of Lagos was named best debater. Adediran Adesokan (Associate, Olaniwun Ajayi), David Akpeji (Associate, AO2Law) and Tobiloba Akinfolarin (Trainee Associate, Bloomfield) served as Judges for the qualifying stage while Damilola Alada (Associate, Bloomfield) and Temple Ezebuike (Associate, Templars) served as Judges for the final stage.

Share on