HomeNewsCJN to swear in new Court of Appeal justices 

CJN to swear in new Court of Appeal justices 


The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, is set to administer the oath of office to nine newly appointed Justices of the Court of Appeal on Wednesday. The inauguration ceremony will take place at the main court auditorium of the Supreme Court.

According to a statement released on Sunday by Dr. Akande Festus, the Director of Press and Information of the court, the appointed justices include:

1. Hannatu Laja-Balogun from Kaduna State, who has served as a High Court Judge since May 24, 1999.

2. Binta Zubairu from Kaduna State, who became a High Court Judge on October 31, 2001.

3. Peter Chudi Obiora from Anambra State, who was sworn in as a High Court Judge on January 17, 2005.

4. Okon Efreti Abang from Akwa Ibom State, appointed as a High Court Judge on June 22, 2009.

5. Asma’u Mainoma from the Federal Capital Territory, who assumed the role of High Court Judge on February 1, 2013.

6. Lateef A Ganiyu from Oyo State, who became a High Court Judge on June 26, 2014.

7. Jane Iyang from Cross River State, who was sworn in as a High Court Judge on February 12, 2015.

8. Hadiza Rabiu Shagari from Sokoto State, who was elevated to the High Court Bench on February 12, 2015.

9. Paul Ahmed Bassi from Borno State, appointed to the High Court on July 14, 2017.

The oath-taking ceremony signifies an important milestone in the careers of these justices, as they embark on their service to the Court of Appeal.


Source: Punch Ng.

Share on

Place your
Adver here

For more details, contact

Related articles:

Mazi Afam Osigwe, SAN’s Reflections on Progress, Challenges, and Hope on Democracy Day

Today, we celebrate our democracy, not because it is...

[Download] Judgment of Court Upholding CBN’s Regulation on Collection of Customers’ Social Media Handles

On Wednesday, 15th May 2024, Honourable Justice Nnamdi Dimgba...

EFCC Receives 14,000 Petitions in One Year, Olukoyede Reveals

Executive Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission...

Court Sentences Police Inspector to Death for Killing Phone Dealer

The Delta State High Court sitting at Asaba on...

Industrial Court 2024 Annual Vacation Begins July 29

The Hon. President of the National Industrial Court of...