HomeBar and BenchSupreme Court Elevation: Full List Of 22 Justices Nominated

Supreme Court Elevation: Full List Of 22 Justices Nominated


A list of 22 Justices of the Court of Appeal nominated by the Federal Judicial Service Commission, FJSC, for elevation to the Supreme Court has been sent to the National Judicial Council, NJC.

The names of the nominees, who hail from various regions in the country, were revealed in an FJSC document on Thursday.

The North-Central region has six nominees, while the South-West and South-South regions have two nominees each. The South-East region also has six nominees, and the North-East has two nominees.

The development is coming after the retirement of Justices Amina Augie and Mohammed Datijo which left the Supreme Court with only 10 serving justices.


Below is the list of the nominated justices: 


1. Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State)-Priority

1A.Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State) -Reserve

2. Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State)-Priority

2A. Hon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State)- Reserve

3. Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State)-Priority

3A. Hon Justice Chioma Nwosu-lheme (Imo State)-Reserve


1. Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State)-Priority

1A. Hon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State)-Reserve


1. Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State)-Priority

1A. Hon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State)-Reserve


1. Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State)-Priority

1A. Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau)-Reserve

2. Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State)-Priority

2A. Hon Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State) -Reserve

3. Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State)-Priority

3A. Hon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State)-Reserve


1. Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State)-Priority

1A. Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State)


1. Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State)-Priority

1A. Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State) -Reserve

2. Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State)-Priority

2A. Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State)-Reserve

Share on

Place your
Adver here

For more details, contact

Related articles:

NBA Owerri Condemns Imo Assembly’s Move to Oust Chief Judge, Insist on Due Process

In a swift and decisive response, the Nigerian Bar...

Kogi Gov. Swears in 10 Newly Appointed Judges

Governor Alhaji Ahmed Usman Ododo has sworn in 10...

Alleged Age Falsification: Imo Assembly Urges Governor to Sack Chief Judge

The Imo State House of Assembly has called for...

Imo Gov. Swears in 10 Judges, Charges Them on Dignity, Honour

Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo State has sworn in...

Bauchi Gov  Swears In 6 Judges, Khadis Tasks Them on Speedy Justice Delivery 

Bauchi State governor Bala Muhammad has sworn in newly...